Final drive bearings

Topics related to the ownership, maintenance, equipping, operation, and riding of the R1150R.

Moderator: Moderators

riceburner
Basic User
Donating Member #: 0

Final drive bearings

Post by riceburner »

The rear wheel is definitely moving relative to the final drive box.

Bah!

Do I need special tools for a full bearing and seals swap?

I've never done this particular job before.
Non quod, sed quomodo.

A Rockster Life
UberZogster
Basic User

Re: Final drive bearings

Post by UberZogster »

I just got the main bearing for my r1100s and haven't needed anything special so far. All I've done is take the easy bits apart though. I talked to the shop and they said all you need is a press for the main bearing. My other bearings look good so I'm leaving them alone. The drive shaft seal is leaking a bit so I plan on replacing it too.
BadToTheBown
Donating Member #: 1

Post by BadToTheBown »

I thought this was pretty good - http://forums.pelicanparts.com/bmw-r110 ... ement.html

Some have used and oven to get the bearing on, freeze for the other part, said bearing just about dropped on, this one does all the rear suspension bearings - https://advrider.com/f/threads/shade-tr ... nt.234400/
2014 Ducati Hyperstrada (HyperProject)
2005 BMW R1150sR Project Tourer
kirby
Donating Member #: 3

Post by kirby »

BadToTheBown wrote:I thought this was pretty good - http://forums.pelicanparts.com/bmw-r110 ... ement.html

Some have used and oven to get the bearing on, freeze for the other part, said bearing just about dropped on, this one does all the rear suspension bearings - https://advrider.com/f/threads/shade-tr ... nt.234400/

This!
mike Mojave CA
'04 ROCKSTER
riceburner
Basic User

Post by riceburner »

On closer inspection.... It's BOTH a weeping crown gear seal, AND the pivot bearings. So it's going to be a full monty change EVERYTHING job.....

Just what I didn't need this month. :(
Non quod, sed quomodo.

A Rockster Life
towerworker
Lifer