do i have a serious clutch problem?

Topics related to the ownership, maintenance, equipping, operation, and riding of the R1150R.

Moderator: Moderators

2002r1150r
Basic User

do i have a serious clutch problem?

Post by 2002r1150r »

Hello, Im a newbie to the BMW world..just got off my suzuki dr650 and on to a 2002 R1150R which runs great and has only 34k miles on the clock..my question, which could be a problem, is that when the bike gets up to operating temp I notice a rattling coming from the engine while its in gear when i pull in the clutch lever ...The rattling, which i can feel in my feet, increases pace with the engine speed when "blipping the throttle" while the clutch lever is pulled in. When the lever is not pulled in and i'm just accelerating it feels just fine... does this sound like a symptom of a potential clutch failure or is this just normal for a dry clutch since i'm used to a multi-plate wet system? Thanks in advance. :D
timl
Basic User
Donating Member #: 0

Re: do i have a serious clutch problem?

Post by timl »

I suspect the rattling may be the left side cam chain tensioner. My R1150R occasionally makes a loud rattle on the left side of the engine. I usually notice it when I stop at a stop sign and pull in the clutch. But only once the engine is thoroughly warmed up. If you don't hear the noise when the engine is cold (and the oil thick) I'll bet that is it.

There is plenty of info on this site about how to easily resolve this via an upgraded part (search on tensioner). The consensus is the problem is annoying but not a serious concern.
2004 Rockster
2002r1150r
Basic User

Post by 2002r1150r »