Help me spend my money (on a r1200r)

Topics related to the ownership, maintenance, equipping, operation, and riding of the R1200R.

Moderator: Moderators

Robert_California
Basic User
Donating Member #: 1

Help me spend my money (on a r1200r)

Post by Robert_California »

Hey Folks,
I've been thinking of getting a r1200r for a dedicated street bike. I've been riding bikes for a few years and I've have been through quite a few makes/models. I've owned a f800gs in the past and I enjoyed that bike and was impressed by BMWs in general. Maybe this bike will be the "keeper" I never sell... at least for street bikes...

Some questions I have are:
What are some essential mods, particularly for touring/commuting?
Of course this list can go out of control, so I have to watch myself. I think all I need are the hard cases, touring windscreen, crash bars and possibly a seat. I don't want to ruin the looks of the bike, but I've seen photos of the bike from other owners in touring mode and they still look snazzy.

How much should I be willing to spend on a good, used bike?
I'm looking to spend $10k or less. I'd like the miles to be low, too. I guess I want the world, huh? I've checked my local dealership and they have one for sale for a bit more. Is there a buyer's market for these bikes? There aren't many used ones for sale. I actually hate this particular dealer.....
angellr
Donating Member #: 860

Re: Help me spend my money (on a r1200r)

Post by angellr »

Robert_California wrote:Hey Folks,
I've been thinking of getting a r1200r for a dedicated street bike. I've been riding bikes for a few years and I've have been through quite a few makes/models. I've owned a f800gs in the past and I enjoyed that bike and was impressed by BMWs in general. Maybe this bike will be the "keeper" I never sell at least for street bikes...

Some questions I have are:
What are some essential mods, particularly for touring/commuting?