'94 R1100RS new to me advise

Topics related to the ownership, maintenance, equipping, operation, and riding of the R1100R.

Moderator: Moderators

Barnby
Basic User
Donating Member #: 1

'94 R1100RS new to me advise

Post by Barnby »

Hello everyone!
I am new to the BMW ride world but i have some questions...basic / recommendations. I have a 94 R1100RS with 71K on the bike. I believe i am the 3rd owner. Bike is GREAT!!! Love the ride. It does have some issues that need to be addressed and would like some thoughts. 3rd Gear slip ( i know this is a known concern on these bikes). I've tried to contact someone on the repair/upgrade on the trans-Anton Largiader.. no response yet. Does anyone know of someone in the Georgia area that can do this??? Along with that, recommend clutch replacement? No clutch problems but, i'll be in there... Also, Brakes. I notice mine rattle--normal/abnormal??? No braking or ABS issues. I guess, i'm looking for some advice on what i should do maintenance wise to get the bike on a maintenance upkeep schedule. I run the Pilot 2's with 40 up front and 44 on back. High pressure but I'm 5'10'' @ 225lbs. I've been keeping an eye on the wear and so far, very even wear. Thanks for any input you can give me!
bookman
Basic User

Re: '94 R1100RS new to me advise

Post by bookman »

Hi Barnby, I have no knowledge of the concerns you're raising but you're in the right place to find things out. Have a trawl through the entries here and you'll pick up some great advice. You may not get many detailed replies about regular upkeep as it's already been covered so many times in here over the years. However, a good manual is a start (Haynes/ Clymer etc.) Welcome to BM biking and the forum.

Bookman, Derbyshire Peak District, UK
Barnby
Basic User

Post by Barnby »