Back with a Boxer

Ownership, maintenance, equipping, operation, and riding of the new 2015 r12r lc. R1200RS info goes in here too!

Moderator: Moderators

yjleesvrr
Donating Member #: 0

Back with a Boxer

Post by yjleesvrr »

Hi gang - most of you don't know me. I'm a veteran of this site active between 2002 - 2008. I just acquired a new RT and am back in the boxer fold. Good to see this site still active and alive. I've on occasion dropped by to see what y'all have been chatting about. The upcoming R1200R LC should be quite a naked standard. The RT is fast. The Roadster being lighter will be near sportbike fast.
Member #93, June 2002
'14 BMW R1200RT "Wethead"
'77 BMW R100/7 "Airhead"
sweatmark
Septuple Lifer
Donating Member #: 208

Re: Back with a Boxer

Post by sweatmark »

Welcome back! There are a few of us still here from the old days.

Agreed: the water boxer drivetrain in a light frame would/could be a rocket. I rode a new GS last week as loaner and was impressed by the performance, even in Rain mode. Put that engine in a sport frame, preferably with S1000RR forks, and I would buy. Better yet, a new version of the Megamoto would be amazing.
Rockster#2, K1300S, S1000R (for sale)
CycleRob
Honorary Lifer
Donating Member #: 1

Post by CycleRob »

Yong, I have pictures of when we rode our OilHeads together on a Blue Ridge Mt Bash group ride. The new liquid cooled DOHC RT will put you near the front of even the fast guy group ride pack (if you so desire). IMEO that bike is the best all around Sport Touring bike made. Handling, comfort, brakes, power, owner serviceability, class, beauty, fuel efficiency - - - it has it all, except maybe the big MSRP, which is still money well spent.

Is your V-Twin SV still in the family?
`09 F800ST

Member since Sept 10, 2001

"Talent, On Loan, From God" --Rush Limbaugh--
yjleesvrr

Post by yjleesvrr »